Landscape Innovation Award

Open category

Landscape Innovation Award

This category rewards innovative research, guidance, ideas, policies, adoption of new technology, strategies and/or products that have played, or will play, a significant role in transforming the way in which landscape practice and/or the landscape profession operates. It is looking for innovation and creative thinking.
This category might include work carried out as policy and research, or innovative design, strategies and approaches on projects but it might also include new landscape products, technologies, materials or initiatives that push the boundaries of the profession or ways of communicating with audiences.

Sponsored by


Typical entries

Typical entries may include:

  • New methods eg use of apps that demonstrate a new way of conducting landscape research
  • Community consultation methods that touch hard-to-reach groups
  • Reports, books, consultations or research that have a demonstrable impact on policy or practice
  • New policies, practice or standards that are innovative
  • Publications which promote an understanding of landscape practice
  • Research to develop technological innovation and sustainable design and management
  • New ways of measuring sustainability impacts in landscape eg embodied carbon, studies and publications that promote the arts and sciences of landscape such as historical research, the development of design theory and the contribution of practitioners
  • New methods of landscape implementation & construction eg use of 3D printing, innovative use of BIM for landscape, educational materials that change the way in which people learn
  • Landscape products that demonstrate innovation and sustainability in original and inventive manner.

Judging criteria

The judges will be looking for the added value that landscape professionals will benefit from the innovation in terms of people (health and well-being) place (including resilience) and nature (biodiversity and habitat creation).

  • Degree of innovation
  • Relevance to landscape profession
  • Future potential
  • Impact
  • Sustainability
  • Scalability

Specific requirements for entry

Support for the submission might include a range of options:

  • Third party affirmations
  • Media coverage
  • Coverage in a journal
  • Awards made by other bodies
  • Proof of use, engagement and impact

Submission requirements

  • Name of project
  • Entrant details
  • Details of landscape professional responsible for production of work
  • Client / Owner authority
  • Project details (client and project team, brief, other relevant details)
  • Covering statement, up to 1500 words, including
    • Purpose: describe the project requirements, scope, context, philosophy and intent.
    • Significance: explain the project’s relevance to the client, the profession, the public and the environment. Describe how the project meets the criteria for judging in the appropriate category and why it is worthy of an award.
    • Innovation: explain how the scheme is unique or special, together with any unusual or demanding problems which were solved
    • Unique features of this entry and why this project deserves to win an award
  • List of contractors and partners to be credited in publicity materials if the entry wins an Award
  • File upload: Submission document addressing the Specific Requirements for Entry set out above, in PDF format, 100MB max file size. Refer to the Hard Copy / Submission Document Submission Requirements for more details of what to include in this document.
  • Images upload: You can upload up to 15 images (JPEG, at least 300dpi) from your submission document, to be featured in promotional material and publicised by the LI. For each image, you will need to provide a brief description, image credit and confirmation that it can be used in publicity.
  • Online media: if you have referenced a video or website in your submission, provide the URL

Enter this award

Register and get your entry to this award

Judge this award

Apply to be a judge for this award category.