Excellence in Heritage and Culture

Professional category

Excellence in Heritage & Culture

This award celebrates projects which emphasise the enhancement of natural or built heritage. 

 It is open to LI members. 

Supported by

What we are celebrating

This award celebrates landscape projects that make a special contribution to the enhancement of heritage and cultureThis may be a landscape scheme which emphasises the enhancement of natural or built heritage; or it may be a plan, assessment, or strategy focussed on heritage, restoration, or conservation.  The award recognises how the project celebrates the past, functions well for the present, and looks to the future to ensure long-term success. 

 This award is open to different types of landscape works, including (but not necessarily limited to): 

  • Assessment or research 
  • Planning document 
  • New process or intervention 
  • Design: concept/outline  
  • Design: detailed/technical 
  • Design implementation 
  • Management strategy 



To enter this Award:

  • The work may be any scale 
  • Part of the awarded activity must have taken place between July 2019 and July 2021
  • The work may be a stand-alone project or form part of a larger project 
  • The work must have secured approval or funding (make sure you provide these details in the online submission form) 

Judging criteria

This award will be scored by an independent panel of judges against our Judging Criteria:

  • Sustainability 
  • Value 
  • Professionalism 
  • The relevant aspects of the Design criteria

In selecting an eventual winner, the judges will focus especially on the degree to which the entry: 

  • is thoughtful and sensitive to its historical context and character 
  • relies upon thorough and robust analysis  

Follow this link to read more details on these criteria and the sub-criteria to make sure you clearly identify how your work meets the specific requirements for your category.

heritage 8

Excellence in Heritage and Culture Award 2020 Winner

An overview from the last years Awards winner on what made their entry successful and much more