Open category

Dame Sylvia Crowe International Award

This award rewards landscape excellence around the world. 

It is open to any individual, organisation, employer, government or university or combination of groups to enter. 

What we are celebrating

This is an international award category which rewards landscape excellence around the world.  This could relate to any project, design, management plan, delivery or research that has contributed to benefit knowledge, learning and society related any field of landscape practice. 

This category is intended to recognise major achievement through people, research, projects, plans or schemes that have delivered significant benefits to people, place and nature through their unique work or landscape led-approaches. 

We would expect applications to include reference to the involvement of relevant landscape professionals or academicssuch as members of IFLA member organisations or local professional bodies. 

This award is open to different types of landscape works, including (but not necessarily limited to): 

  • Assessment or research 
  • Planning document 
  • New process or intervention 
  • Design: concept/outline  
  • Design: detailed/technical 
  • Design implementation 
  • Management strategy 


To enter this Award:

  • The work may be of any scale
  • Part of the awarded activity must have taken place between July 2021 and July 2023
  • The work may be a stand-alone project or form part of a larger project 

Judging criteria

This award will be scored by an independent panel of judges against our Judging Criteria:

  • Sustainability 
  • Value 
  • Professionalism 
  • The relevant aspects of the Design criteria

Follow this link to read more details on these criteria and the sub-criteria to make sure you clearly identify how your work meets the specific requirements for your category.

Submitting your entry

This is an online entry.

Make sure you carefully read the How to Enter page for important information about the process and conditions of entry.

You should also read the Judging Criteria and the guide to entering Open categories for information on eligibility and what you will need to provide in your entry.

Enter this award

Register and enter this award

Judge this award

Apply to be a judge for this award category.