Professional category

Excellence in Small Landscape and Garden Design

This award celebrates high-quality design of small scale completed landscape or garden schemes.

It is open to individual chartered, fellow or academic member of the Landscape Institute or an office, department or section headed by a chartered member of the Institute. 

Sponsored by

What we are celebrating

This award celebrates the quality of built landscape design in its purest sense.  It is for permanent or temporary sites below one hectare, which have created a new place or improved an old one.  These could be private or public gardens, parks and public realm, frontage or urban greening, commercial or mixed-use.  The scheme should be functional, useable, beautiful, and sensitive to its context.

This category celebrates projects which demonstrate excellence in overall design concept, planting, materials and features, which have overcome particular site challenges, such as soil drainage or drought issues and projects which set a high standard in issues such as biosecurity, plant health and sustainability.  The judges will be looking at how these elements come together to produce an outstanding place.


To enter this Award:

  • The work must be below 1 hectare
  • Part of the awarded activity must have taken place between July 2021 and July 2023
  • The work may be a stand-alone project or form part of a larger project 

Judging criteria

This award will be scored by an independent panel of judges against our Judging Criteria:

  • Design 
  • Sustainability 
  • Value 
  • Professionalism 

In selecting an eventual winner, the judges will focus especially on the degree to which the entry meets the requirements under the Design criteria.   

Submitting your entry

This is an online entry.

Make sure you carefully read the How to Enter page for important information about the process and conditions of entry.

You should also read the Judging Criteria and the guide to entering Professional categories for information on eligibility and what you will need to provide in your entry.

Enter this award

Register and enter this award

Judge this award

Apply to be a judge for this award category.